APC chairmanship: Governors yield to Buhari’s choice


By Ismail Auwal

President Muhammadu Buhari and governors elected on the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket reached an agreement on a consensus-based unity list.

During a meeting at the Presidential Villa attended by 16 governors, Buhari expressed his preference for former Nasarawa State Governor Senator Abdullahi Adamu as national chairman.

Abubakar Kyari, and a former President of the Senate, Ken Nnamani as Deputy National Chairman (South) and  Deputy National Chairman (North) were respectively picked as consensus candidates. 

Before the President’s meeting with the governors, seven chairmanship aspirants were screened by Governor Aminu Masari-led committee.

These are Saliu Mustapha, Sani Musa, Tanko Al-Makura, Abdullahi Adamu, George Akume, Abdulaziz Yari and Mohammed Etsu.

Also screened for other positions are Deputy Chair North – Sunny S. Moniedafe, Abubakar Girei, Yakubu Dogara, Isa Yuguda and Abubakar Kyari; Deputy Chair South – Ken Nammani and Emmanuel Joseph; and National Secretary – Iyiola Omisore, Adebayo Shittu and Ifeolu Oyedele.

It was learnt that an agreement was also reached at the meeting that all chairmanship aspirants who lost out would get a refund of their N20million nomination fee.

The 16 APC governors at the meeting have reportedly endorsed and have pledge to  support President Buhari’s proposal for a consensus arrangement to fill APC National Working Committee (NWC) positions.

Atiku Bagudu, the Chairman of the Progressive Governors’ Forum (PGF) and the Governor of Kebbi State, stated this following a meeting of the governors with the President in Abuja yesterday.

“The governors are in agreement. “The governors have unanimously backed Mr. President,” he said.

Those who choose to run in the election, he says, will not be stopped.

The APC convention is scheduled to take place in Eagles Square on Saturday.

Related articles

Recent articles