APC to hold presidential primaries on June 7



By Ismail Auwal

The All Progressive Congress APC) has fixed June 7, 2022, for its presidential primary election.

The date was listed in a programme of events for the special convention.

According to the schedule, the primary election activities will begin with speeches from all of the presidential candidates.

President Muhammadu Buhari will make a “special remark” before the election begins in earnest at 6 p.m.

Three hours later, at 9 p.m., vote counting and collation will begin, culminating in the announcement of the winner and the party’s flagbearer for the 2023 presidential election.

It could be recalled that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)  set June 9 as the deadline for political parties to submit their list of candidates.

The APC had scheduled the presidential primary for May 30/31, but it was moved to June 6-8 due to an extension of INEC’s deadline.

The aspirants to participate in the process include Bola Tinubu, former Lagos governor; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation; Ahmad Lawan, senate president; Yahaya Bello, governor of Kogi; Kayode Fayemi, governor of Ekiti, and Emeka Nwajiuba, former minister of state for education.

Others are Ogbonnaya Onu, former minister of science and technology; Ibikunle Amosun, former governor of Ogun; David Umahi, governor of Ebonyi, Muhammad Badaru, governor of Jigawa; Godswill Akpabio, former governor of Akwa Ibom; and Tein Jack-Rich, an oil magnate.

Related articles

Recent articles