Kano State Assembly commences commissioner nominees screening


By Aminu Kutama

The Kano State House of Assembly on Monday commenced the screening of the nine commissioner nominees transmitted to it by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje, on Monday, last week.

Recall that the governor had on Monday sent a provisional list of nine people to be screened by the State Assembly for appointment as commissioners.

Sahelian Times has observed that the House of Assembly premises is crowded by a huge number of well-wishers and party members who have escorted the nominees to the screening exercise.

Those to be screened today include, Alhaji Garba Yusuf Abubakar, who was at different times, Commissioner of Finance, Land and Information during the administration of former Governor Ibrahim Shekarau, and the immediate past Chairman of Nasarawa Local Government, Lamin Sani Zawiya.

Other nominees include a former chairman of Wudil Local Government, Saleh Kausani, and a former commissioner during the first administration of former governor, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Ibrahim Dan’Azumi Gwarzo.

The Governor, also nominated Dr. Jibril Yusuf Rurum, Hon. Yau Abdullahi Yanshana and Hon. Adamu Abdu Panda, a former National Treasurer of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and the vice chairman of Gezawa Local Government, Abdulhalim Liman Dan Maliki.

Their appointment follows the resignation of a number of commissioners who decided to pursue elective positions in the 2023 General Elections.

Related articles

Recent articles