Home Nigeria Kwara extends closure of 10 missionary schools

Kwara extends closure of 10 missionary schools


By Abba Gwale

Kwara State government has, for the second time, announced the extension of the closure of 10 Mission Secondary Schools in Ilorin, the state capital.

In a statement signed by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Kemi Adeosun, said the schools should remain closed because of security reasons.

Recall that the Kwara state government shut the 10 schools belonging to some Christian Missions in the state on February 19, 2021, following a crisis on the wearing of Hijab by Muslim female students who are attending the schools.

The government had earlier said that it approved the wearing of Hijab in all government grant-aided public schools in the state and directed that the schools be reopened today (Monday, March 8, 2021)

“Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development wishes to inform members of the public that the 10 government schools where the use of hijaab is disputed will remain shut until a later date” according to the government statement

She further said “This decision has been taken for safety reasons”.

The affected schools are; C&S College Sabo Oke, ST. Anthony College, Offa Road, ECWA School, Oja Iya, Surulere Baptist Secondary School, Bishop Smith Secondary School, Agba Dam, CAC Secondary School Asa Dam road, St. Barnabas Secondary School Sabo Oke, St. John School Maraba, St. Williams Secondary School Taiwo Isale, and St. James Secondary School Maraba.

The government, therefore, directs school children and teachers in the affected schools to remain at home until the contrary is announced.

The state government said it will remain committed to fairness, pluralism, and respect for the law and rights of every citizen at all times.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here