By Ismail Auwal

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday asked all Federal Executive Council (FEC) members running for elective positions in 2023 to resign within five days.

They were asked to submit their letters of resignation by Monday, May 16, 2022.

The order, according to the Minister of Information and Culture, excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Mohammed went on to say that if the need arose, the directive could include political appointees.

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Minister of Education; Chris Nigige, Minister of Labour and Productivity; Godswill Akpabio, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science and Technology; and Timipre Sylva, Minister of Petroleum Resources, are among those affected (APC).

Others include Attorney General of the Federation Mallam Abubakar Malami, who has expressed interest in becoming governor of his home state of Kebbi.

Uche Ogar, the Minister of State Mines and Steel, is running for governor of Abia State, while Pauline Tallen, the Minister of Women Affairs, has declared her intention to run for senator of Plateau State.

Isa Pantami, the Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, is also rumoured to be interested in running for governor of Gombe State and to have picked up the APC governorship nomination forms.

Sunday Dare, his counterpart in Youth and Sports Development, has also purchased the N50 million APC nomination forms to succeed Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party in the 2023 governorship elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here